Boston Globe: Massachusetts Prosecutor disallows breathalyzer results due to problems with system

  • Posted on: 23 April 2015
  • By: brent

By Evan Allen of the Boston Globe (Reposted from: https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2015/04/22/prosecutors-suspend-use-bre...(

Prosecutors in Middlesex and Essex counties and on the Cape and Islands have suspended the use of breathalyzer test results in drunk-driving cases until State Police complete a review of whether the test procedure is reliable, authorities said Wednesday.

WSJ: Supreme Court Curbs Drug-Sniffing Dogs During Traffic Stops

  • Posted on: 23 April 2015
  • By: brent

By Jesse Bravin of the Wall Street Journal, Reposted from: http://www.wsj.com/articles/supreme-court-limits-use-of-drug-sniffing-do...)

WASHINGTON—The Supreme Court ruled 6-3 on Tuesday police can’t prolong a routine traffic stop to allow a drug-sniffing dog to search the vehicle unless they have a reasonable suspicion of uncovering contraband.

NORML: CBS News Poll: Majority Of Americans Back Legalizing Marijuana

  • Posted on: 23 April 2015
  • By: brent

by Paul Armentano, NORML Deputy Director (Reposted from http://blog.norml.org/2015/04/22/cbs-news-poll-majority-of-americans-bac...)

The majority of Americans say that marijuana is safer than alcohol and believe that its use should be legal, according to nationwide polling data compiled by CBS News.

Marijuana Possession

  • Posted on: 26 November 2014
  • By: brent

The vast majority of marijuana-based arrests in the State of Texas are Misdemeanor-B "Possession of Marijuana Under Two Ounces", punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Very rarely do district attorneys seek a jail sentence in misdemeanor possession of marijuana cases, and frequently my clients will face only a deferred adjudication probation or diversion program and the related fines and community service, with no arrest on their record after completion of their plea agreement and a filing for non-disclosure.

Assault (Including Family Violence)

  • Posted on: 26 November 2014
  • By: brent

Assault charges will follow you your entire life - you should never face an assault case without an attorney. The moment you get a call from a detective to give a statement, hire an attorney. The crime of Assault is based on unwanted contact between the "victim" and a defendant, so even the simplest "brushing past" or "pushing" may result in a case being filed. However, detectives and district attorneys do consider the facts from all sides when they have enough information to do so.

Pages